使用我们的标签审查解决方案,遵守 FDA 标签要求非常简单。

我们的 FDA 标签、产品和成分专业人员帮助成千上万的公司确保其产品在食品和饮料、化妆品、药物、医疗器械、膳食补充剂和动物饲料行业符合 FDA 标签要求。

label-header

Registrar Corp的标签和成分审核服务包括:

label-product

免费评估您的产品标签

ingredients

审查您的产品成分,以确定它们是否适合美国市场 

bottle

对标签的建议
修订的详细报告  

calendar

在 30 天内对修订后的标签进行一组额外的修订 

label

符合 FDA 标准的标签的即用型图形文件 

expert

监管专员的一对一专家协助 

食品、饮料和膳食
补充剂标签和
成分审核

遵守FDA标签法规是一个长期的过程。2016年,FDA最终确定了食品、饮料和补充剂标签的重大修改,包括每日营养价值、食用份量、营养成分表等的更新。这些规则的合规截止日期为2020年1月1日,对于年销售额低于1,000万的生产商,合规截止日期为2021年1月1日。自 2021 年 1 月起,FDA 对在美国销售的产品实施了新的标签要求。

全面服务产品标签审查

我们的团队将您的标签与联邦法规、联邦登记册、食品添加物质数据库、GRAS 通知、指导文件、标签指南和 FDA 发布的警告信中的数千页交叉引用,以研究您的标签是否符合:

  • 身份声明:评估通用名称、任何适用的身份标准、风味声明要求等
  • 营养成分或补充成分: 包括评估产品符合条件的任何豁免;审核将确定产品是否可使用任何修改后的格式(如简化和表格)
  • 成分:评估产品的成分,以确保它们被公认为安全 (GRAS) 或被 FDA 批准为颜色添加剂或食品添加剂;根据需要进行修改,以确保根据 FDA 的要求正确声明成分;对膳食补充剂成分进行审查,以确定它们是否可能受新膳食成分通知要求的约束
  • 索赔审查:评估标签上发现的任何营养成分声明(例如,“钾含量高”)、健康声明或结构/功能声明
  • 净含量
  • 食品过敏原和标签消费者保护法案 (FALCPA) 要求的过敏原声明
  • 制造商/包装商/经销商声明
  • 美国海关和边境保护局要求的原产国
  • 美国农业部要求的生物工程披露声明
  • 发现的可能受 FDA 管辖的任何其他信息

营养成分标签审核

如果您只需要协助审核您的营养成分标签,Registor Corp 的监管专员可以帮助您创建合规的营养成分标签。这项简化服务包括:

  • 评估产品以确定适当的 RACC
  • 根据 FDA 法规确定适当的供应量
  • 符合 FDA 的营养事实标签
  • 评估产品包装和尺寸,以确定是否需要任何修改的格式(例如,列格式)

在下表中选择“仅限营养成分标签”,以享受此服务。

drug-labeling

药品标签和成分审查

FDA要求非处方药(OTC)标签列出有效成分、药物用途、警告和剂量说明。Registrar Corp将审查您标签的成分、语言和说明,并在您的报告中包括FDA法规、合规指南、警告信、进口警报和其他文件的最新清单。

医疗器械标签和产品审核

FDA的标签法规适用于从牙刷到超声波机等所有医疗器械。您的器械标签可能需要包含详细的使用说明、警告声明、唯一器械标识符或用户安全所需的任何信息。Registrar Corp可以审核您器械的现有标签并对其进行修改,以遵守FDA的标签要求。

medical-device
cosmetic-labeling

化妆品标签和成分审核

联邦食品、药品和化妆品法案(FFDCA)禁止销售任何品牌标示不当的化妆品。错误标示可能指虚假或误导性的标签声明、信息缺失的标签,或以欺骗性方式制作或填充的容器。通过Registrar Corp的帮助,您将获得有关化妆品标签的针对性反馈和全面的合规指导。

动物饲料和宠物食品标签及成分审核

FDA与美国饲料控制官员协会(AAFCO)合作,制定标签法规,并确定动物饲料、宠物食品和补充剂的正确成分。我们的专家团队可以帮助审核您产品的标签和成分,并确保它们符合FDA和AAFCO指南。

animal-feed
color-additive

色素添加剂审核和批次认证

FDA监管用于食品、医疗器械、药品和化妆品的色素添加剂。有些色素通常能得到批准,而其他色素则具有特定的批准用途或使用限制,有些色素需要“批次认证”才能添加到成品中。Registrar Corp的法规专家可以帮助您了解FDA广泛的色素添加剂法规,并确定哪些要求适用于您的产品。

《加州安全化妆品法案》报告

某些打算在美国加利福尼亚州销售产品的化妆品公司必须报告其产品中可能导致癌症、出生缺陷或其他生殖损害的成分。Registrar Corp帮助公司确定其产品中的哪些成分可能受此要求的约束,并向加州报告。

cosmetics

确保您的产品标签和成分符合要求。

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Max. file size: 50 MB.

常见问题

FDA有权监管人们日常使用的许多产品,如食品、膳食补充剂、化妆品、药品、动物饲料和医疗器械。一般来说,标签必须真实且无误导,以防被视为错误标示(并受到FDA的执法行动)。这适用于在国内生产的产品,也适用于在美国境外生产和进口的产品。

联邦法规第21章中的规定要求在这些产品的标签上标示出具体声明。FDA还发布了许多指导文件,以帮助行业了解法规以及FDA将如何应用它们。

食品的核心要求包括食品名称、净含量、营养成分信息、配料表以及生产商、包装商或分销商的名称。FDA的法规和指导文件还提供了具体的内容和格式要求,例如强制性字体大小以及成分名称。标签上的“营养成分”部分必须具有附加图形元素(即图表)。

FDA的新规定于2021年1月1日对所有公司生效。所有带有营养信息的食物产品现在必须显示营养成分标签的更新版本

某些产品(如冰淇淋、果酱和混合坚果)须遵守“名称标准”或描述产品必须满足条件才能被命名为特定名称的法规。其中可能包括必须或禁用的成分、特定的生产工艺或某些特征(如乳脂百分比)。

FDA发布了名称标准法规,并发布了关于其他类型产品命名的指导文件,如巧克力、外来名称食品、香料和海鲜。

对常规食品的许多标签要求也适用于膳食补充剂,但有一些明显的例外。补充剂必须声明具有截然不同格式和内容的“补充剂成分”,而不是“营养成分”。补充剂还必须包括美国国内电话号码和邮寄地址,以便消费者报告严重不良事件。

任何涉及身体结构或功能的声明必须附有免责声明:“该声明尚未经过FDA的评估。本产品不用于诊断、治疗、治愈或预防任何疾病。” 此免责声明也有其自己的字体大小、格式和位置要求。

化妆品必须遵守FDA发布的标签法规和公平包装和标签法(“FPLA”)。化妆品标签必须注明名称、净含量、成分表以及生产商、包装商或分销商的名称。化妆品标签法规还包括对字体大小、内容和格式的许多要求。

对于销售化妆品的公司来说,密切关注其产品标签上的声明是非常重要的。化妆品只能声称具有清洁、美化或表面改变外观的效果。任何暗示对身体结构或功能产生影响或提及疾病的声明都可能导致FDA将产品标记为药物,即使没有活性药物成分。

2022年12月,美国国会通过了“化妆品法规现代化法案”(“MoCRA”),该法案大幅提高了对化妆品的要求。它包括香水过敏原的新标签要求和不良事件报告联系人。它现在还要求某些企业向FDA注册和/或列出其产品。

根据FDA的定义,药品是指“用于诊断、治愈、缓解、治疗或预防疾病”和“(食物除外)影响身体结构或任何功能的任何产品。” 任何符合该定义的产品都可以作为药品由FDA监管。因此,许多通常作为化妆品销售的产品可能会被作为药品受到FDA的监管,例如防晒霜,痤疮治疗产品,含氟牙膏和干裂护肤霜。

药品必须符合最终版药典专题的要求,或通过新药申请(“NDA”)流程获得FDA批准。专题规定了特定药物类别允许使用的活性成分,并要求在标签中包含具体说明。一般来说,药品标签要求注明药品名称、净含量、“药物成分”、用于报告严重不良事件的美国电话号码或邮寄地址,以及生产商、包装商或分销商的名称。标签要求可在联邦法规第21篇、FDA发布的指导文件以及特定药物类别的专题中找到。

药品在美国上市之前,须遵循注册和产品列名要求。

FDA有权监管动物饲料,包括宠物食品和补充剂产品。该机构与美国饲料控制官员协会(“AAFCO”)合作,后者是美国各州和联邦政府机构自愿组成的会员组织,负责管理动物饲料的生产,标签,经销,使用和销售。

FDA标签要求包括名称、净含量、成分表以及生产商、包装商或分销商的名称。宠物食品标签通常由AAFCO在官方出版物 (“OP”) 中规定的要求进行补充。这些要求包括各个州的要求,例如“保证分析”、目的声明,以及可以参考的产品或其成分的声明类型的额外限制。

医疗器械标签法规将要求非处方(“OTC”)产品的特性和净含量进行说明。所有医疗器械(包括处方器械)应声明预期用途、详细的使用说明、禁忌症和警告以及唯一的器械标识符(“UDI”)。处方医疗器械还必须有额外的声明或符号来标识自己。

医疗器械标签法规适用于手术刀等简单产品和超声机器等复杂产品,这意味着它们可能差异很大。除一般标签法规外,公司还应研究FDA可能针对其特定器械制定的任何具体指导文件,以确保包含所有强制性或建议性的声明。

不同市场的成分规定可能存在很大差异。在美国以外被认为可接受的成分可能与FDA的要求不同。其中一个重要例子是色素添加剂。色素添加剂违规很常见,因为FDA要求每种色素添加剂(甚至是天然来源的添加剂)都经过批准。

常规食品配料必须被批准作为食品添加剂,或被公认为对其预期用途是安全的(“GRAS”)。补充剂中含有的膳食成分不受此要求的限制,但如果在1994年10月15日之前在美国没有以补充剂形式销售,则须遵守“新膳食成分通知”的要求。

除色素添加剂外,化妆品成分未经FDA批准。生产商必须确保其产品中所含成分可安全用于预期用途。2022年化妆品法规现代化法案对化妆品生产商提出了额外的安全证明要求,但FDA尚未被授权正式批准其他类型的化妆品成分。

非处方药(“OTC”)中发现的活性成分必须被公认为安全有效(“GRASE”),并列入已发表的专著中,或者是新药申请(“NDA”)或简略新药申请(“ANDA”)。与化妆品成分一样,OTC药物中的非活性成分未经FDA批准,色素添加剂除外。生产商应确保这些药物对其预期用途、使用药物的类别以及产品本身的配方都是正确和安全的。

公司应对其打算在美国销售的所有产品中发现的成分进行彻底的审查。不适当或非法的成分可能导致货物在入境口岸被扣留。然后,进口商必须再出口或销毁产品,这可能导致严重的供应链中断和经济损失。Registrar Corp的标签审核服务包括对产品成分的分析,以确保产品成分在美国市场被允许。

允许的声明取决于您的产品类别(例如,食品、补充剂、药品)。常规食品和膳食补充剂产品可能会宣称产品中某些营养素的含量、对身体结构和功能的影响、某些降低疾病风险的说法,以及诸如“无麸质”或“健康”等特点。

可接受的化妆品声明更加有限,因为它们只能声称表面上美化和改变外观。药品或医疗器械的声明取决于专题或器械分类中所说明的预期用途。

大多数声明还受到联邦法规、FDA指导文件或其他出版物中所规定的限制。未经许可的声明可能导致产品因标示错误或未经批准的药物指控而被扣留。

To top

Complying with FDA labeling requirements is simple with our Label Review solutions.

Our FDA label, product, and ingredient professionals help thousands of companies assure their products in the food and beverage, cosmetic, drug, medical device, dietary supplement, and animal feed industries meet FDA labeling requirements.

label-header

Registrar Corp’s Labeling and Ingredients Review Service includes:

label-product

A free assessment of your product’s label

ingredients

A review of your product ingredients to determine if they are appropriate for the U.S. market 

bottle

A detailed report of recommended
revisions to your label  

calendar

One additional set of revisions to the revised label within 30 days 

label

A ready-to-use graphic file of your FDA-compliant label 

expert

One-on-one expert assistance from a Regulatory Specialist 

Food, Beverage, and Dietary
Supplement Labeling And
Ingredients Review

Remaining compliant with FDA labeling regulations is an ongoing process. In 2016, FDA finalized significant changes to food, beverage, and supplement labeling, including updates to daily values, serving sizes, the nutrition facts chart, and more. The compliance deadline for these rules was January 1, 2020, or January 1, 2021 for manufacturers with less than 10 million in annual sales. Since January 2021, FDA has enforced its new labeling requirements on products being marketed in the U.S.

Full-Service Product Label Review

Our team cross references your label against thousands of pages within the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, Substances Added to Food database, GRAS notices, guidance documents, labeling guides, and Warning Letters issued by FDA to research that your label is compliant for:

  • Statement of Identity: Evaluation for common name, any applicable standards of identity, flavor declaration requirements, and more
  • Nutrition Facts or Supplement Facts: Includes evaluation for any exemptions for which the product qualifies; Review will determine if any modified format (such as simplified and tabular) may be used for the product
  • Ingredients: Evaluation of a product’s ingredients to ensure that they are generally recognized as safe (GRAS) or approved by FDA as a color additive or food additive; modification as necessary to ensure that ingredients are declared properly according to FDA’s requirements; Dietary supplement ingredients are reviewed to determine if they may be subject to the New Dietary Ingredient notification requirement
  • Claims Review: Evaluation of any nutrient content claims (e.g., “high in potassium”), health claims, or structure/function claims found on the label
  • Net Quantity of Contents
  • Allergen declaration as required under the Food Allergen and Labeling Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA)
  • Manufacturer/Packer/Distributor statement
  • Country of Origin required by U.S. Customs and Border Protection
  • Bioengineered Disclosure statement as required by the U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Any other information found that could be subject to FDA jurisdiction

Nutrition Facts Label Review

If you only require assistance reviewing your nutrition facts label, Registrar Corp’s Regulatory Specialists can assist you in creating a compliant nutrition facts label. This simplified service includes:

  • Evaluation of product to determine the appropriate RACC
  • Proper serving size determination per FDA regulations
  • FDA-compliant nutrition facts label
  • Evaluation of product packaging and size to determine if any modified formats may be required (e.g., column formats)

Select “Nutrition Facts Label Only” in the form below to take advantage of this service.

drug-labeling

Drug Labeling and Ingredients Review

The FDA requires Over The Counter (OTC) drug labels to list active ingredients, drug uses, warnings, and dosage instructions. Registrar Corp will review your labels’ ingredients, language, and instructions and include a current list of FDA regulations, compliance guides, warning letters, import alerts, and other documents in your report.

Medical Device Labeling and Product Review

FDA has labeling regulations that apply to all medical devices, from toothbrushes to ultrasound machines. Your device’s label may need to include adequate instructions for use, warning statements, Unique Device Identifiers, or any information necessary for user safety. Registrar Corp can review your device’s current label and modify it to incorporate FDA’s labeling requirements.

medical-device
cosmetic-labeling

Cosmetic Labeling and Ingredient Review

The Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) prohibits any distribution of misbranded cosmetic products. Misbranding can refer to false or misleading labeling claims, labels with missing information, or containers made or filled in a deceptive manner. With Registrar Corp, you’ll receive targeted feedback on your cosmetics labels and thorough compliance guidance.

Animal Feed and Pet Food Labeling and Ingredient Review

FDA works with the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) to establish labeling regulations and determine appropriate ingredients for animal feed, pet food, and supplements. Our team can review your product’s label and ingredients and assure their compliance with FDA and AAFCO guidelines.

animal-feed
color-additive

Color Additive Review and Batch Certification

FDA regulates color additives intended for use in food, medical devices, drugs, and cosmetics. Some colors are approved generally, while others have specific approved uses or limitations on their use, and some require “batch certification” before they can be added to a finished product. Registrar Corp’s regulatory experts can help you navigate FDA’s extensive color additives regulations and determine which requirements apply to your products.

California Safe Cosmetics Act Reporting

Certain cosmetic companies intending to sell in the U.S. state of California are required to report ingredients in their products that may cause cancer, birth defects, or other reproductive harm. Registrar Corp helps companies determine which ingredients in their products may be subject to this requirement and reports them to California.

cosmetics

Make sure your product labels and ingredients are compliant.

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Max. file size: 50 MB.

Frequently Asked Questions

FDA has authority over many of the products people use every day, such as food, dietary supplements, cosmetics, drugs, animal feed, and medical devices. Generally, labels must be truthful and not misleading, to prevent being deemed misbranded (and subject to enforcement action by FDA). This applies to products manufactured domestically as well as products manufactured outside of the U.S. and imported.

Regulations in Title 21 of the Federal Code of Regulations require that specific statements appear on these products’ labeling. FDA has also published many guidance documents to assist industries in understanding the regulations and how FDA will apply them.

The core requirements for foods include the declaration of a statement of identity, net quantity of contents, nutrition facts information, ingredients list, and the identity of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. FDA’s regulations and guidance documents also offer specific content and formatting requirements, like mandatory type size and how ingredients should be named. The “Nutrition Facts” panel has additional graphic elements (i.e., the chart) that must be used on the labeling.

FDA’s new rules came into effect for all firms on January 1, 2021. All food products bearing nutritional information must now show the updated version of the Nutrition Facts label. 

Certain products (such as ice cream, jam, and mixed nuts) are subject to “standards of identity,” or regulations that describe conditions that a product must meet to be called by a certain name. These may include required or prohibited ingredients, specific manufacturing processes, or certain characteristics (such as milkfat percentage).

FDA publishes regulations for standard of identity and issues guidance documents for naming other types of products, such as chocolate, foods with foreign names, spices, and seafood.

Many of the same labeling requirements for conventional foods also apply to dietary supplements, with a few notable exceptions. Instead of a “Nutrition Facts” panel, supplements must declare a “Supplement Facts” panel that has very different formatting and content. Supplements must also include a domestic U.S. phone number and mailing address so consumers can report serious adverse events.

Any claims being made that reference the structure or function of the body must be accompanied by a disclaimer statement: “This statement has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.” This disclaimer also has its own type size, formatting, and placement requirements.

Cosmetic products are subject to labeling regulations issued by FDA and the Fair Packaging and Labeling Act (“FPLA”). Cosmetic labels must declare a statement of identity, net quantity of contents, ingredients list, and the identity of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. Cosmetic labeling regulations also include many requirements for type size, content, and format.

It’s extremely important for companies marketing cosmetics to pay close attention to the claims being made on the labels of their products. Cosmetics may only make claims to cleanse, beautify, or alter the appearance in a superficial way. Any claim that implies an effect on the structure or function of the body or references a disease can cause the product to be branded a drug by FDA, even if there are no active pharmaceutical ingredients.

In December 2022, U.S. Congress passed the Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act (“MoCRA”) which drastically increased the requirements for cosmetic products. It includes new labeling requirements for fragrance allergens and an adverse event reporting contact. It also now requires certain facilities to register and/or list their products with FDA.

By FDA’s definition, a drug is any product that is “intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease” and “(other than food) intended to affect the structure or any function of the body.” Any product that meets that definition can be regulated by FDA as a drug. As a result, many products commonly marketed as cosmetics may be regulated by FDA as drugs, such as sunscreens, acne treatment products, fluoride toothpastes, and chapped skin creams.

Drugs must either meet the requirements of a final order (monograph) or be approved by FDA through the New Drug Application (“NDA”) process. Monographs specify active ingredients that are permitted for a particular drug category and require specific statements be included in the labeling. Generally, drug labels require a statement of identity, net quantity of contents, “Drug Facts” panel, U.S. phone number or mailing address for serious adverse event reporting, and the identity of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. Labeling requirements can be found in Title 21 of the Federal Code of Regulations, guidance documents issued by FDA, and the monograph for that particular drug category.

Drug products are also subject to registration and product listing requirements before they can be marketed in the U.S.

FDA has jurisdiction over animal feed, which includes pet food and supplement products. The agency works with the Association of American Feed Control Officials (“AAFCO”), a voluntary membership organization of U.S. state and federal government agencies that govern the production, labeling, distribution, use, and sale of animal feed.

FDA labeling requirements include a statement of identity, net quantity of contents, ingredients list, and identity of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. Pet food labels are usually supplemented by requirements specified by AAFCO in their Official Publication (“OP”). These include individual state requirements such as a “Guaranteed Analysis,” purpose statements, and additional limitations on the types of claims that can be made in reference to a product or its ingredients.

Medical device labeling regulations will require a statement of identity and net quantity of contents for over-the-counter (“OTC”) products. All medical devices (including prescription devices) should declare intended use, adequate directions for use, contraindications and warnings, and unique device identifier (“UDI”). Prescription devices must also bear an additional statement or symbol identifying themselves as such.

Medical device labeling regulations are designed to apply to both simple products such as a scalpel and complex products like ultrasound machines, which means they can vary widely. In addition to the general labeling regulations, companies should research any specific guidance documents that FDA may have for their exact device, to assure that all mandatory or recommended statements are included.

Ingredient regulations can vary widely from market to market. Ingredients considered acceptable outside the U.S. may not have the same status with FDA. One important example of this is color additives. Color additive violations are common, as FDA requires that every color additive (even naturally sourced ones) be approved by them.

Conventional food ingredients must either be approved as food additives or be generally recognized as safe (“GRAS”) for their intended use. Dietary ingredients found in supplements are exempt from this requirement but are subject to a “new dietary ingredient notification” requirement if they were not marketed in a supplement in the U.S. prior to October 15, 1994.

Except for color additives, cosmetic ingredients are not approved by FDA. Manufacturers are required to ensure that the ingredients found in their products are safe for their intended use. The Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act of 2022 imposes additional requirements for safety substantiation on manufacturers of cosmetic products, but no authority has been granted to FDA to formally approve other types of cosmetic ingredients.

The active ingredients found in over-the-counter (“OTC”) drugs must be generally recognized as safe and effective (“GRASE”) and included in a published monograph or be the subject of a New Drug Application (“NDA”) or Abbreviated New Drug Application (“ANDA”). Like cosmetic ingredients, inactive ingredients in OTC drugs are not approved by FDA, except for color additives. Manufacturers should ensure that they are appropriate and safe for their intended use, the category of drug in which they are used, and the formulation of the product itself.

Companies should conduct a thorough review of the ingredients found in all products they intend to market in the U.S. Inappropriate or illegal ingredients can result in a shipment being detained at port of entry. The importer must then either re-export or destroy the product, which can cause significant supply chain disruptions and financial losses. Registrar Corp’s Label Review Service includes an analysis of the product ingredients to ensure that they are permitted in the U.S. market.

Permitted claims depend upon your product category (e.g., food, supplement, drug). Conventional food and dietary supplement products may make claims about levels of certain nutrients in the product, the effects on the structure and function of the body, certain disease risk reduction claims, and characteristics such as “gluten free” or “healthy.”

Acceptable cosmetic claims are much more limited since they can only claim to beautify and alter appearance in a superficial way. Claims made on drug products or medical devices will depend on the intended use that is described in the monograph or device classification.

Most claims are also subject to limitations described in the Code of Federal Regulations, FDA guidance documents, or other publications. Nonpermitted claims can result in product detention on misbranding or unapproved drug charges.

To top