遵守 Registrar Corp 的 FDA 颜色添加剂服务。

避免浪费无数小时研究 FDA 广泛的颜色添加剂要求,并获得适用于您产品的法规的专家指导。Registrar Corp将竭诚为您服务。

color-additives-header
color-additive1

色素添加剂审核和批次认证

色素添加剂是任何染料、颜料或其他能给产品增色的物质。FDA监管添加到食品、补充剂、药品、化妆品和医疗器械中的色素添加剂,包括合成物质和天然来源提取的物质。

色素添加剂在用于受FDA监管的产品之前,必须经过FDA的审批程序。FDA可能会对销售含有未经批准的色素或未按法规中描述的方式使用色素的产品的公司采取执法行动。

这些行动可能包括发出警告信、将公司列入进口警报名单,或在港口扣留和拒收产品。

对于某些合成色素添加剂,使用批准取决于成功完成“批次认证”。非美国公司必须指定一名美国代理完成此流程。

在批次认证过程中,生产商:

  • 提取色素添加剂的样品
  • 将样品发送给FDA
  • 向FDA支付费用,以便FDA根据法规中描述的规范测试样品
  • 如果此色素通过检查,则获得唯一的批号

每种色素添加剂都有令人困惑的不同要求,具有挑战性且耗时。如何知道色素添加剂是否需要批次认证、不需要或根本不允许认证?

color-additive2

Registrar Corp可以提供帮助。

我们将根据美国联邦法规以及联邦登记处、食品数据库添加的物质、标签指南和美国 FDA 发布的警告信中的数千页交叉引用您的颜色,从而简化颜色添加剂法规。

Registrar Corp 可以审查您的颜色添加剂,以确定它们是否已经获得 FDA 批准。我们的报告将详细说明您的颜色添加剂所需的所有经批准的用途和规格。

如果您的颜色添加剂符合批次认证要求,我们将:

帮助您获取FDA帐户并登录在线系统

协助您提交样本

担任您的通讯联系人和(如适用)美国代理

Registrar Corp帮助简化色素添加剂法规。 

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Max. file size: 50 MB.

常见问题

所有色素添加剂必须获得FDA批准才能用于其预期用途。一旦获得批准,FDA就会公布特定色素添加剂的法规,该法规见联邦法规第21篇。

有些色素通常获得批准,而其他色素将有非常具体的批准用途或使用限制。例如,β-胡萝卜素通常可用于食品,但螺旋藻提取物只能用于某些产品类别。

此外,一些色素添加剂需要“批次认证”才能添加到成品中,FDA会测试每个生产批次的样品,以确保其符合其规格要求。这些色素一旦通过认证,名称中就会标有“FD&C”或“D&C”。

认证涉及有关生产的严格规定,然后“控制”批次,以便在FDA测试样品时不会发生掺假。色素添加剂本身的标签也有特定的含量要求。  任何违规行为都可能导致FDA拒绝该批次产品并拒绝认证。

公司必须非常小心,确保其色素获准在美国使用,因为这是货物被扣留的一个极为常见的原因。公司还必须准备好证明其产品中使用的任何可认证色素均来自FDA认证的批次,并具有准确的批号。

FDA根据认证批次的大小收取费用。对于纯色和色淀,费用为每磅0.35美元,但不低于224美元。对于以前认证的颜色添加剂的重新包装,费用各不相同:批次 100 磅或以下,35 美元;批次 100 磅至 1000 磅以上,35 美元加 0.06 美元;批次 1000 磅以上,89 美元加 0.02 美元,1000 磅以上。

2022年11月2日,FDA提议增加色素批次认证费用,以支付该项目增加的运营成本。到目前为止,这项增加费用的提议尚未最终确定。

为了向FDA认证颜色,公司必须在FDA建立一个色素添加剂帐户。非美国公司还必须指定一名美国代理,该代理将对提交认证的任何样品“承担责任”。

建立色素添加剂帐户后,公司将有权访问FDA的在线系统,通过该系统可以提交批次认证申请。要使用在线系统,必须向FDA缴纳认证费,并将其记入色素添加剂帐户。

收到费用后,公司可以提交申请并将样本发送给FDA进行测试。美国代理还使用在线系统对样品承担责任。FDA将在系统中公布测试结果,并通过邮件跟进各批次的纸质证书。

全球使用的许多色素添加剂都需要经过FDA的批次认证。将使用这些色素的产品运往美国的公司在无法证明产品使用了认证色素时,货物被扣留和拒绝入境是非常普遍的。

例如,Allura Red、Tartrazine和Sunset Yellow 必须认证为FD&C Red 40、FD&C Yellow No. 5 和 FD&C Yellow No. 6。

纯色或色淀样品必须为4盎司。重新包装或混合样品必须为2盎司。FDA希望公司使用在建立色素添加剂帐户时发给公司的特定容器。不使用FDA规定的容器可能会延误流程或导致样本被拒收。

FDA法规要求在获得认证之前,您的批次必须受到严格控制。它必须储存在能防止成分发生变化的容器中,并在在认证申请者的控制下保存。

样品必须进行标记,明确在认证完成之前不得使用。如果FDA有理由相信色素添加剂不在申请人的控制下,FDA会拒绝对色素添加剂进行认证。

认证完成后,该批次产品在用于食品、药品或化妆品之前,必须保持其适当的成分。

如果批次通过并得到认证,FDA将为该批次分配一个唯一的批号。如果FDA要求提供认证证明,则应将此编号添加到标签中并引用。

任何公司在购买可认证的色素添加剂用于运往美国市场的成品时,都应确保向其提供唯一的批号,以防 FDA 在港口检查时要求提供该批号。

To top

Stay compliant with Registrar Corp’s FDA color additives services.

Avoid wasting countless hours researching FDA’s extensive color additive requirements and get expert guidance on which regulations apply to your products. Registrar Corp is here to do the heavy lifting for you.

color-additives-header
color-additive1

Color Additive Review and Batch Certification

A color additive is any dye, pigment, or other substance that can impart color to a product. FDA regulates color additives added to food, supplements, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices, including both synthetic substances and substances derived from natural sources.

Color additives must undergo FDA’s approval process before being used in products regulated by the agency. FDA may take enforcement action against a firm distributing products containing an unapproved color or one used in a manner not described in regulation.

These actions may include warning letters, placement of the company on import alert, or detention and refusal of the product in port.

For some synthetic color additives, approval for use is contingent upon successful completion of “batch certification.” Non-U.S. companies are required to designate a U.S. Agent for this process.

During the batch certification process, the manufacturer:

  • Retrieves a sample of the color additive
  • Sends the sample to FDA
  • Pays a fee for FDA to test the sample according to the specifications described in regulation
  • Gets a unique lot number if the color passes

Navigating the confusing requirements for each of your color additives is challenging and time consuming. How do you know whether a color additive needs batch certification, doesn’t need it, or isn’t allowed at all?

color-additive2

Registrar Corp can help.

We’ll simplify color additive regulations by cross-referencing your color against thousands of pages within the Code of Federal Regulations as well as the Federal Register, Substances Added to Food Database, Labeling Guides, and Warning Letters issued by U.S. FDA.

Registrar Corp can review your color additives to determine if they have been approved by FDA. Our report will detail all of the approved uses and specifications required for your color additives.

If your color additive is subject to the batch certification requirement, we’ll:

Help you obtain an FDA account and log into the online system

Assist you with the submission of samples

Serve as your communications contact and (if applicable) U.S. Agent

Registrar Corp helps simplify color additive regulations. 

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Max. file size: 50 MB.

Frequently Asked Questions

All color additives must be approved by FDA for their intended use. Once approved, FDA announces a regulation for the specific color additive, which is found in Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

Some colors are approved generally, while others will have very specific approved uses or limitations on their use. For example, beta carotene may be used in foods generally, but spirulina extract may only be used in certain product categories.

In addition, some color additives require “batch certification” before they can be added to a finished product, where FDA tests a sample from each manufactured batch to ensure that it meets their specifications. These colors, once certified, are designated with “FD&C” or “D&C” in the name.   

Certification involves strict rules regarding manufacturing and then “controlling” the batch so that no adulteration occurs while FDA tests the sample. The labeling of the color additive itself is also subject to specific content requirements.  Any violation can result in FDA rejecting the batch and refusing to certify. 

Companies must be very careful to ensure that their colors are approved for use in the U.S. as this is an extremely common cause for shipment detentions. Companies must also be prepared to prove that any certifiable colors used in their products are sourced from FDA-certified batches with the exact lot number. 

FDA charges fees based upon the size of the batch being certified. For straight colors and lakes, the fee is $0.35 per pound, but no less than $224. For repacks of previously certified color additives, the fee varies: batches 100 pounds or less, $35; batches greater than 100 pounds up to 1000 pounds, $35 plus $0.06 for every pound over 100 pounds; and for batches greater than 1000 pounds, $89 plus $0.02 for every pound over 1000 pounds.  

On November 2, 2022, FDA proposed an increase in color batch certification fees to cover increased costs of operating the program. To date, this proposed increase has not been finalized.  

In order to certify colors with FDA, a company must establish a Color Additive Account with FDA. Non-U.S. companies must also designate a U.S. Agent who will “accept responsibility” for any samples submitted for certification.  

Once the Color Additive Account is established, a company will be granted access to the FDA’s online system though which batch certification requests can be submitted. To use the online system, the fees for certification must be sent to FDA and attributed to the Color Additive Account.  

Once the fees are received, a company may submit requests and send the samples to FDA for testing. The U.S. Agent also uses the online system to accept responsibility for the samples. FDA will post the results of the testing in the system and follow up by mail with paper certificates for the batches.  

Many color additives used worldwide are subject to batch certification by FDA. It is very common for companies sending products with these colors to the U.S. to experience detained shipments and entry refusal when they cannot prove that the products were made with certified colors.  

For example, Allura Red, Tartrazine, and Sunset Yellow must be certified as FD&C Red 40, FD&C Yellow No. 5, and FD&C Yellow No. 6.  

A straight color or lake sample must be 4 ounces. A repack or mixture sample must be 2 ounces. FDA prefers that companies use specific containers the agency sends to the company when the Color Additive Account is established. Failure to use FDA’s containers can delay the process or result in the sample’s rejection.  

FDA regulations require that your batch be kept under tight control pending certification. It must be stored in containers that will prevent a change in composition and held under the control of the person requesting certification.  

Samples must be marked so that it is clear it is not to be used until certification is complete. FDA has refused to certify color additives in cases where the agency has reason to believe they are not being held under the requestor’s control.   

After certification is complete, the batch must be kept to maintain its proper composition until used in a food, drug, or cosmetic.  

If a batch passes and is certified, FDA will assign the batch a unique lot number. This number should be added to the labeling and referenced if FDA asks for proof of certification.  

Any company purchasing a certifiable color additive for use in a finished product destined for the U.S. market should ensure that they are provided the unique lot number in the event that FDA requests it upon inspection in port.  

To top